Uncategorized

A look behind before a step forward

Before I divulge my  long-awaited New Year’s Resolutions for 2014, I want to take a moment and reflect on 2013. During 2013, I have:

  • Celebrated four Years of marriage with my sweet husband
  • Ran two marathons and countless other races
  • Travelled to: DC, San Francisco, Michigan, Georgia, Alabama, Nashville, Hawaii and West Virginia
  • Spent quality time with family and friends
  • Celebrated two years in my current position, and six years as a federal employee
  • Started this amazing, empowering BLOG (THANK YOU to my readers)

I LOVE New Year’s. It is possibly  my favorite holiday. Now, I am not talking about the fireworks, or drinking, or anything else (although all are fun), I use New Year’s as a reflection point. New Year’s Resolutions to me are a huge deal, and always have been. I do not believe that they are things to just say and not truly strive to achieve. However, with that being said, it also bugs me, when people don’t make them and tout that “it is a lifestyle, not a resolution”. Excuse me, but HOW to create a healthy lifestyle? You RESOLVE to do so. Some of my most positive lifestyle changes are direct results of resolutions.

One thing that I have strived for this year, and will strive for every year, is pursuing a balanced life. For me it is difficult (understatement) to balance fitness goals, with being a full-time employee and wife/mom. This balance is delicate to say the least. This year, there were days, and sometimes weeks, that I feel like I have it. That I truly “have it all”. Most of the time though, I don’t; something is out of wack in the balance and someone may be feeling hurt or neglected because of it.

So, with all of that being said, I don’t have it all – But I have it pretty damn good. I am excited to share my resolutions with you all for 2014 and would love to hear yours as well! Have a wonderful New Year’s, everyone!

Leave a Reply

