Uncategorized

A MANDATORY push out of the box

I love routine, I love comfort and I love staying WITHIN the box with my workouts and fitness routine. A tend to get a bit, “On Monday I do 30 minutes of spinning and cross fit”, on “On Tuesday I run”, etc. While it is very important, especially at the beginning of your fitness journey, to create and maintain routines, at some point it becomes counter-productive. My body (and your body) becomes efficient at what you ask it to do and, over time, gets less benefit for the energy exerted. A very frustrating fact. 

So, what do you do? What do I do about this? Super glad you asked.

I mix it up. Not all of the time, to some extent, I want to maintain a base level of ability with many of my workouts (running, for example).  However, getting out of the box is VERY beneficial. Keeping your body guessing is a very, very good thing.

On the blog, to offer other ideas of ways to get out of the box, I am going to be presenting “Project 2014″. I will attend (and review) various fitness classes, as well as many other exercise forms. In order to make an”apples to apples” comparison amongst workouts, I will be wearing a heart rate monitor and comparing all classes and workouts against each other with the same format.

For running and cycling, I will be wearing my Garmin 610 (with attached heart rate monitor strap):

Image

http://www.costco.com/Garmin-Forerunner®-610-Sports-Watch.product.100027079.html

For all other classes and exercise forms, I will be wearing my Polar FT4 Heart Rate Monitor (Note: mine is in Khaki and black – much more fierce than the pink, just sayin’)

Image

 

http://www.rei.com/product/792847/polar-ft4-heart-rate-monitor-womens

I will compare all with the following criteria:

  1. Total Calories Burned
  2. Max Heart Rate
  3. “Fun Factor” – A numerical assessment between one (lame) and ten (life changing!)
  4. Average Time Commitment
  5. Gear Required
  6. Open – any other review pieces that I determine to be necessary information to give

Just right off of the bat, some workouts that I am planning on reviewing include: running, cycling, cross fit, Les Mills classes, Pilates, Zumba, snow shoeing, hiking, rock climbing, etc.

Can’t wait to go on this journey and I hope you all continue to read as I share my experience. Are there any additional workouts that you would like added to my list? Go on everybody, let’s get OUT of the box!

References:

http://science.howstuffworks.com/life/human-biology/diet1.htm

 

One thought on “A MANDATORY push out of the box

Leave a Reply

