Uncategorized

Project 2014 – Spinning

For this second post of Project 2014, I will be reviewing Spinning. I spin at my local gym that offers both Les Mills spinning. In addition to that offering, some instructors choose to create their own curriculum. This specific class that I am reviewing was not a Les Mills Class, so, there will be some variation expected based on the instructor, music, etc.

Image

1. Total Calories Burned: 665

2. Max Heart Rate: 189 Beats Per Minute (BPM)

3. Average Heart Rate: 165 BPM

4. “Fun Factor”: You know, spinning to me isn’t that fun. I like the way I feel at the end and I really like the improvement that I can see in my running when I spin consistently, but, I do not look forward to, or enjoy the class. I guess I would give it a rating of 3.

5. Average Time Commitment: 60 minutes

6. Gear Required: I don’t know about you ladies (or gentleman), but, I care about comfort. When it comes to spinning, I would ideally like to NOT walk like a horse for the next day because of *ahem* severe crotch pain, SO, there is a solution!!

  • Padded Spin Shorts: You will NOT be achieving “Gym Cutie” in these shorts. Let’s be honest, you will 100% look as though you are wearing an adult diaper. But, you know what, I will take that over the crotch pain any day! HOWEVER, if you accidentally pack these and you end up lifting weights or running in them, people will assume you have an issue. I have done that and accept that reality. http://www.rei.com/product/828581/pearl-izumi-attack-bike-shorts-womens

Image

  • Socks: I don’t go crazy in this department, ideally, something that doesn’t rub is ideal.
  • Top: This is another area where I am not overly particular, I will say that I prefer spinning in a top that does not squeeze my mid section. Who seriously wants to spin and constantly suck in, DON’T ACT LIKE YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT! I refuse to believe it is just me.
  • Sports Bra: Honestly, I prefer a tank top with a built in, support is not supremely important.

shoes

7. General Thoughts:  When I was about a year into running and had a few races under my belt, I started to develop a nagging pain along the front of my right knee. Like a standard runner, I ignored it for a while (DON’T DO THIS), and pretty soon I was trying out chiropractor and sports massage because it truly was impacting my training. The more research I did, I realized that I had made a pretty simple, common mistake that new runners often make. I was doing so much running and quickly strengthening my hamstrings and calf muscles, but I wasn’t giving enough attention to my quads. This article really was the one that helped me in my research http://www.webmd.com/pain-management/knee-pain/runners-knee. For me, the culprit was my week quad muscles. One of my local running heroes suggested that I add spinning into my routine. The results really were incredible, within a few weeks of spinning once a week, that pain really just went away. And, knock on wood, I haven’t had it again over the last year and a half.

I look at spinning in the same way I think about eating broccoli, it truly isn’t my favorite, but, my body needs it. So, what the heck are you waiting for, spin class anyone??


One thought on “Project 2014 – Spinning

Leave a Reply

