Uncategorized

Project 2014 – Winter Hiking and Snowshoeing

This marks Post Number 3 of Project 2014. I have to admit, this activity lately, is very near and dear to me. Snow for me is so exciting. Maybe it is the little kid inside this 27 year old lady, but, I get near the snow and I am just happy! SO, what better activity for a snow-bunny like me than Winter Hiking/Snowshoeing. Oddly enough, this is my first year ever trying a snow sport. I think, I just always felt intimidated that I don’t know how to ski or snowboard and thought that really was all there was. Turns out, there is a whole world out there of activities that don’t require you having ski lessons at the age of three to participate in, PLUS, some MAJOR calories to be burned. I am not sure if I have ever said this on the blog before, but, I am one of five kids. I have three brothers and one sister. My oldest brother is 12 years older than I am. In so many ways, my siblings inspire me. Jay, my oldest brother, is brilliant, contagious and has been my idol for as long as I can remember. He purchased me my first pair of designer jeans (before everyone had them), took me as his date to the Nutcracker and showed me off (at 13) as if there was no one in the world he would have rather taken. He writes the best letters and I save every one he writes me. jay Years ago, Jay badly injured his knee and many activities that he loved, became nearly impossible. He is such an inspiration for me in how to stay active and make adjustments around your body, while still not using an unfortanate injury as an excuse. When he invited me to go snowshoeing/hiking, I was overwhelmed at how much gear I would need to purchase to get equipped. I definitely went cheap on some to get going, but, I truly wanted to see if the activity was going to be a fit for me. hiking 1. Total Calories Burned: 463 Calories Per Hour (2,357 Over five hours) – I will say that while the, per hour, caloric count is not high, please keep in mind this was a five hour activity and I didm’t stop the watch over breaks, lunch, etc. 2. Max Heart Rate: 184 Beats Per Minute (BPM) 3. Average Heart Rate: 133 4. “Fun Factor”: 10! SO much fun! 5. Average Time Commitment: MINIMUM Five Hours, there is driving to a location, and to get anywhere, it just takes time 6. Gear Required: Oh heavens, where do I start. Besides a basic workout outfit (no cotton), hiking boots, crampons, gaiters, poles, snow pants, gloves, hat, pack, camera (believe me), and lots of extra protein-rich snacks and water hiking view 7. General Thoughts: You just can’t beat an activity where you can multi-task – catch up with friends and workout. This activity is so refreshing for me. It reminds me that my running, cross fit and spinning help keep my body strong and ready to accomplish the next activity that I haven’t attempted before. Strong body = more options! hiking 2 Have you ever tried to snow hike/snowshoe?

Leave a Reply

