Uncategorized

Jillian Michaels – What’s the big deal?

I have been in New Hampshire for three weeks.

I have started a new, scary job. I have joined a gym and frequented a co-op. I have never been more overcome with such a desire to be near my family. I couldn’t in a million years imagine how hard it truly would be to be away from my sweet red-head, or his handsome dad. Let’s just say, this has been a pretty crazy transition.

This week, on a whim, I bought a ticket to see Jillian Michaels live in her “Maximize Your Life” tour. I have to admit, I was not overly optimistic about the show. But, getting out of the hotel was appealing and there were tickets available.

Let me tell you what, I really was blown out of the water.

20140322-234518.jpg

Jillian’s show was divided into three sections: Eating, Exercise and Self.

Eating:
For the Food-focused section, she was so straight-forward, which I love. Many of the concepts were not new to me; calories in, calories out, etc. However, a few topics that were especially helpful for me were her “Avoid at all cost” list and the produce that she considered to be safest to purchase non-organic, her “Clean 15”:

Avoid these items:
1. Trans fat, aka hydrogenated oil
2. High-fructose corn syrup (HFCS)
3. Artificial sweeteners
4. Artificial colors
5. Sodium nitrites and nitrates
6. Growth hormones
7. Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
8. Butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) and butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT)
9. Antibiotics
10. Pesticides

Clean 15:
1. Asparagus
2. Avocado
3. Cabbage
4. Cantaloupe
5. Corn
6. Eggplant
7. Grapefruit
8. Kiwi Fruit
9. Mango
10. Onions
11. Pineapple
12. Sweet Onions
13. Sweet Peas
14. Sweet Potatoes/Yams
15. Watermelon

Exercise:
For the exercise portion, she talked a lot of a good target HR zone, all of which I agreed with. I appreciated how she mentioned that the Biggest Loser, while an amazing experience for many, truly is not a realistic picture of weight loss. On the show, she works out the contestants at least six hours a day. She really emphasized the importance of being inspired, without expectation of a similar speed of result.

Self:
By far for me, the most beneficial section of the show was the portion focusing on “Self”. I have always appreciated on the Biggest Loser how she truly attempts to get to the core issues that have resulted in obesity. It seemed like at the root of every story she told was fear. At one point, she asked what doing nothing in ten years would make. Many people answered that there would be no change. She disagreed. In ten years, doing nothing results in a negative outcome. To not act is to act. Fear is temporary, regret is permanent.

For me, I have never been in a situation where I felt as though I had lost myself. No abusive relationship or terrible work environment. For the most part, there is not greater underlying issue that I cover with poor eating habits, substance abuse, etc. But, that is not to say that fear does not play an impact in my life. I have always wanted to get certified to teach some form of a workout class. I never have. The thought terrifies me. Maybe I won’t be a natural teacher, maybe my class will be poorly attended, maybe others will think I am inadequate. Fear is temporary, regret is permanent.

Ms. Michael’s definitely got me thinking tonight. I am very pleased that I drug myself out of the hotel room to experience a little Concord, New Hampshire, and more importantly that I kept an open mind and truly gained something from my attendance. I would 100% recommend the show if any of you all have the opportunity to attend.>

2 thoughts on “Jillian Michaels – What’s the big deal?

  1. Katie I am so sorry you have to be away from your guys and your family. It must be important enough for you to make that sacrifice. I have always kinda followed Jilliean but dont like to be screamed at. I like her lists and she has good information. Love you.

Leave a Reply

