Uncategorized

Meal Planning Monday

There are few things that I hate in this world more than meal planning and meal prep.

First off, by the time the meals are planned and the grocery shopping is done, I feel like the whole process has taken enough effort. I seriously have to cook this stuff now? Unbelievable.

The holy grail of meal planning when you have children is only making one dinner (as opposed to being the short order cook that I generally am) and ideally when the meals are nutritiously dense, taste good AND make fantastic leftovers. Basically, my expectations are extremely high and are rarely met.

Josh (aka Baby Daddy) is a saint and is all too aware of the mealtime struggle, he researched and purchased Deceptively Delicious for me.

Jessica Seinfeld is a major girl crush for me. Not only is she a talented chef, she also founded the Good+ Foundation which is an incredible organization whose mission is to “to break the cycle of family poverty through the power of donated goods and services”. They have donated almost 20 million items to a national network of over 100 antipoverty programs since their founding in 2001. Anyone that is willing to use their position to give back and make an impact gets major street cred with me.

Anyway, back to the cookbook.

meal-planning-seinfeld

When he purchased Deceptively Delicious for me, I was a bit skeptical. To be honest, it just looked like a lot of work. Each dish incorporates a previously-prepared vegetable puree. In order to avoid a meal taking a ridiculous amount of time, before the meals are tackled, a few hours need to be carved out for vegetable puree prep, portioning and freezing. I put off doing this step for a few weeks and finally took it on last Sunday. I made and portioned the following purees: sweet potato, spinach, zucchini, carrot and broccoli. I was pleasantly surprised that the book explains perfectly the various ways to prepare the purees and it wasn’t as painful a process as I had anticipated.

Now that this step was done, I picked three recipes to make. No joke, each recipe that I made was a slam dunk. The veggies were truly camouflaged. I chose Italian Meatloaf, pita pizzas and Turkey meatball soup.

meal-planning-seinfeld-2

This week, I am making burgers, tacos and pita pizzas (because they are so dang easy). I am also going to try her baked doughnut recipe (because it looks AMAZING).

If you are looking for a creative way to incorporate additional veggies into your diet, I would HIGHLY suggest you try this cookbook.

XOXO,

Katie

 

Leave a Reply

